The unification into a loosely defined country from groups of scattered tribes or clans happened in the 12th Century, and the Divine Monarchy finally took hold in 1907 when the first hereditary King, Ugyen Wangchuck, was crowned. In the 1960s the 2nd kKng, Jigme Dorji Wangchuck instituted the National Assembly and shared power with 150 elected representatives who serve three year terms. Now the third King is in charge, walking the tightrope between tradition and modernity. The King, educated at Oxford, has four wives, all sisters, and resides in the outskirts of Thimpu, the capital.